Sony is Changing PlayStation Trophies

Pure Satisfaction

There’s nothing more satisfying in gaming than hearing that distinctive ring that plays out when you’ve achieved a platinum trophy. Sure, Microsoft and its achievement system may have laid the groundwork. But, they haven’t made any significant updates that have genuinely gotten players excited to grind through an entire list of tasks. That’s not to say Sony has been the gold-standard in refining its trophy set up over the years. It’s just that now, they’re finally going to do something about it.

Sony feature 1280

In a blog post written by Toshimasa Aoki – Product Manager at Sony Interactive Entertainment – it’s explained that Sony is overhauling the trophy leveling system, the calculation structure, and the icons themselves. Here’s what Aoki had to say:

New Trophy Levels

The first thing you’ll notice is the big change to your Trophy level. We’re increasing the Trophy level range from the current “1-100” to “1-999,” so following this update, your Trophy level will automatically be remapped to a new level within this new range based on the Trophies you’ve earned to date. For example, if your current Trophy level is 12, your new level will jump to somewhere in the low 200’s. The exact level will depend on the number and grades of trophies you’ve acquired. There will be no changes to the Trophies already earned or Trophy information, such as unlock requirements.

New Level Calculation Structure

We’ve implemented a new Trophies level calculation system that is more optimized and rewarding. Players will progress quicker through the early levels, and levels will increase more consistently. Platinum trophies will count more toward your level progression, making them even more valuable.

New Trophy Level Icons

With an expanded level range, we’re also updating the trophy level icon on PlayStation 5, as well as PlayStation App at a later date. Currently the Trophies icon is just a single gold star, but we’re adding a few variants:

  • Bronze: levels 1-299
  • Silver: levels 300 – 599
  • Gold: levels 600 – 998
  • Platinum: level 999


The icons will also have a subtle distinction to visually suggest how close you are to the next level.

It was confirmed that trophies that have already been acquired would automatically transfer over to the PlayStation 5 come launch day.

What are your thoughts on the upcoming changes to the PlayStation trophy system? Sound off in the comment section below.

Thank you for keeping it locked on COGconnected.

  • For amazing videos, head over to our YouTube page HERE.
  • Follow us on Twitter HERE.
  • Our Facebook page HERE.
  • Our Instagram page HERE.
  • Listen to our podcast on Spotify or anywhere you listen to podcasts.
  • If you are a fan of cosplay, check out more of our cosplay features HERE.