Square Enix Drops Official Kingdom Hearts Story Recap Videos

Previously on Kingdom Hearts…

With the launch of Kingdom Hearts III only being a day away in North America, Square Enix has released the Kingdom Hearts Memory Archives, a series of videos that serve to recap the complex story of the fantasy RPG series.

There are five videos in total and each of them do their darndest to help refresh our memories on what is actually going on in the Kingdom Hearts story. Outside of being a brilliant mash-up of Final Fantasy and Disney¬†properties, the series is known for having a rather convoluted and layered story. With numerous entries in the series since the original game was released in 2002 for the PS2, there’s a lot of stories here to cover.

Watching all five Memory Archives will take approximately 20 minutes. Even at that length, it’s impossible to recap absolutely everything. If you’re seriously wanting to jump into the series, we’d recommend playing each game to its fullest but we understand how long of a time sink that is. Regardless, even if you’re a casual fan of the series, it’s probably worth watching if you have any intention to follow what’s happening in Kingdom Hearts III.

We’ve linked all five videos below for your convenience. You might want to grab a snack and beverage before you hit play.

Episode 1: Departures

Episode 2: Memories

Episode 3: Twilight

Episode 4: Dawn

Episode 5. Darkness

Kingdom Hearts III launches tomorrow, January 29th, on PS4 and Xbox One.

How excited are you to see the events of Sora and crew continue? Leave us a comment down below.